August 14, 2007

Help Me Out Here

Posted in Uncategorized at 12:52 pm by msgsafe

I have a 2 page list of restaurants I plan to review on this site, but let’s face it: I can barely scratch the surface. My list is also fairly regional (although I’m attempting to cover national chains first) and centered in the Midwest.

So help me out here – post suggestions of restaurants and food products you’d like to see reviewed here.

If you are the owner, manager, or executive chef of a restaurant that avoids MSG on the menu, please – let me know!  Not only do I applaud your efforts, I’ll shout it to the rooftops of the blogosphere.

Thanks!

5 Comments »

  1. Amber said,

    Long Johns.
    When I was little I could eat anything and nothing would bug me. My husband brought a meal home and in the middle of the night I woke up in pain. SO bad I thought I needed to go to the hospital. I am also pregnant so it was scary. I have a feeling what I ate was HIGH in MSG.

  2. Amber said,

    Oh and thank you so much for doing this. I haven’t been ‘diagnosed’ with MSG allergen but from reading a few things on here, I don’t think I need a doctor’s opinion.

  3. msgsafe said,

    Thanks Amber – I’ll add Long Johns to the list.

    Please, be extra careful to avoid MSG during pregnancy! I actually discovered my sensitivity because the extra hormones of pregnancy interacted with the MSG and landed me in the hospital with stroke-like symptoms.

    Do you have the list of all 2 dozen or so “other names” for MSG?

  4. msgsafe said,

    The way I see it, it doesn’t HURT anything to cut MSG out of your diet, even if you aren’t sensitive. But it’s such a difficult thing to pin down (due to all the various names and derivatives of MSG) that eliminating it from your diet may have some surprising benefits.

    I’m so glad you’ve found the information here helpful. I’ve got to get back to work and post some of the things I have sitting on my desk waiting to be written up!

  5. Tim Grove said,

    A GREAT site is MSG myth.com and MSG truth.com. Both are excellent and Please get her book.


Leave a Reply

